Keeping it real

Posted on May 21, 2010

1


I’m now getting more and more into this blog business and as a result I feel like I finally have some sort of meagre grasp on the technicalities of my blog, so much so that I was actually able to put a Creative Commons License  on my blog (insert smily).

Since I try to correctly attribute all manner of information that I use from other sites or blogs, I thought it only fair that I get a little ‘credit’ too.

After following a step by step guide for dummies on how to insert a Creative Commons License into by blog from scissormonkey.wordpress.com, (cough*attribution*cough) my specifications spat out the ‘Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License’.  Hmm yes…basically it looks like this…This means that my blog can be used for commercial purposes, but content cannot be modified and these codes apply internationally.  Sounds pretty impressive like I had some lawyer draw me up a copyright contract, but really it just took a few clicks of the mouse.

I’ll admit that I may have chosen my criteria on a whim, having never done this before, but I feel it does represent the type of license I want for my blog.

I have no issues with people using and sharing the content of my blog, but if it were to be used, I’d like to think that this content merited the courtesy of attribution and to remain unaltered.

I feel like this license allows people to use my content respectfully and in moderation without being too restrictive.

As far as the negatives of including a Creative Commons License goes, I don’t really see any downfalls in including one but rather if you don’t, obviously your material could be misused and plagiarised without you having any control.

When choosing my Creative Commons License, I looked at other blogs as a guide and for inspiration, being realistic of course that my blog is only in the fetal stages.

As far as blogs that I regularly read go, the prolific fashion blog ‘The Satorialist’ would have to be one of the most popular and well established.

Because of its much sought after content and general popularity, it’s no surprise that it’s creator Scott Schaum has put a very distinct license on his blog which specifies that  “THIS ENTIRE SITE Ⓒ 2005-2009 THE SARTORIALIST. ALL OF THE PHOTOGRAPHS HEREIN, UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED, ARE COPYRIGHTED BY THE PHOTOGRAPHER. NO PART OF THIS SITE, OR ANY OF THE CONTENT CONTAINED HEREIN, MAY BE USED OR REPRODUCED IN ANY MANNER WHATSOEVER WITHOUT EXPRESS PERMISSION OF THE COPYRIGHT HOLDER(S).”

Very particular indeed and necessary in this case as this blog is Shaum’s livelihood and labour of love.

Clearly I’m not comparing my blog to ‘The Satorialist’ or implying that it is of any such standard, but whether it be big or small, full of advertisements or not, if you’re passionate about what you write and your content reeks of ‘you’, why not keep it that way?

Posted in: Elucidation