Finding my nook in the niche

Posted on April 22, 2010

4


Niche blogging is becoming ever popular with the rapid growth and abundance of blogs now focussing more on less.

The great thing about niche blogging is that,  in being ‘niche’, we don’t have to fit in or comply with traditional blogging methods.  As blogs have evolved from their early versions, now, by definition, we have the freedom to blog about our most obscure interests.

So here’s where my blog comes into it…

Food and restaurant blogging which was once considered niche has now resulted in millions of successors and become parents to countless niche offshoots.  Their offspring include glutenfree, vegan and shoestring budget recipe blogs to name just a few.

Adhering to this unconventional birth pattern, I have decided to create a blog which relates specifically to Melbourne and it’s more daring and unique food.   I will review the alternative cultural delights that Melbourne has to offer and give my opinions and suggestions on the cuisine and what to order as well as a brief history of the traditional food of these countries.

I’m trying to view Melbourne as an exotic island like in Danny Boyle’s The Beach that’s home to a variety of nationalities which amalgamate to become one small country.  And what better way to enjoy these cultures than through food.

A blog that I would say I’m perhaps aiming to emulate whilst keeping my own style would be London Eater, a guide and commentary on some of London’s restaurants, bars and cafes.

This blog, whist being a typical food review, is slightly niche as it has a specific focus on food in London as the name suggests.  What drew me to it however, was the simplistic style and format of the blog, juxtaposed with the eye catching food photography.

Like the ‘London Eater’, my blog is simple in style but I will incorporate stylised photography of the food I review as a means to help the reader get a true sense of the restaurant’s ambiance and cuisine.

The ‘London Eater’ is perhaps slightly highbrow in terms of the types of food it reviews and the audience it attracts but the writing style is one that speaks to me being casual yet sophisticated at the same time.  I identify with the blogger Kang who says, “I’m not a judge but merely a a spectator, a fan and mostly a food lover.”

Unlike the ‘London Eater’ where the left side of the blog is dedicated to advertising to raise revenue, I certainly wouldn’t expect my blog to be poached by advertisers, and if one day it were, I’m not sure that I would consent as I feel the ads for ‘I Starvin’ etc, take away from the overall aesthetic of the blog.

Spatula, Spoon and Saturday is also another blog that I would perhaps use as a model for my own blog.

This blog resinates with me because it is written by a Melbourne girl and has a strong asian focus on the food she eats, reviews and even cooks at home.

Again, like ‘London Eater’, there is a strong photographic influence, showing the food in all it’s decorative glory or rather the lack of in some instances as with J G Dumpling Restaurant, Glen Waverly.

The bright colours of the food are paralleled with the rather simple, black and white blog design and unlike ‘London Eater’, the blog is not littered with advertising.

This blog attracts and everyday audience like myself, of local melbournians who can read these reviews and then visit the eateries if they choose.

‘Spatula, Spoon and Saturday’ also gives us a wide variation in styles of food and prices, reviewing restaurants with $10 mains and others with $20 desserts.  I like this use of variety, however I believe I will be sticking to the lower scale budget places!

Et voila, that’s my view on these 2 blogs …now it’s just a matter of me actually starting mine.

Off to a Yemeni restaurant tonight, should be interesting.

Posted in: Elucidation